Video

A brief LED test.

Despite almost going blind and having blind spots in my eyes after this process, my friend (an electrical engineer student) and myself were testing LED’s from a circuit board to work out the battery voltage we would need to allow the LED’s to shine as bright as I wanted. We fiddled around with the board and decided 4V was too much as the LED turned blue. The maximum brightness and best brightness from these will be 3.5 V therefore I will use 3V LED’s with 12V batteries meaning I can have 4 LED’s connecting to one battery.

The brightness of the LED is important for this design as I need the glow to almost penetrate the wood that I am using. The glow must be visible to the users of the table. I will follow up this post with further material selection for the end product.

Leave a Reply

