material selection

The majority of my final design will be made from recycled wood. To give the design a great quality finish I will work with used wood where I will sand it and cut it in various ways to find the most ergonomic and aesthetically pleasing style. Because my theory work has covered subtle concepts throughout the development stage to compliment the idea of my design I will carry on this theme with the final product. To do this I will use the rapid prototype machine to cut into the table top to extrude grain-like shapes so that the light can glow through these. This will allow the wood to look like it is naturally glowing and I hope by keeping a natural theme, the end product will have a greater ability to connect with it’s users ‘naturally’.

 

These are some images from the last few days as I have been closely looking at form and material selection.

 

Leave a Reply

