Jinsop Lee influenced. Knowing where you are.

One year ago I watched a Ted talk by Jinsop Lee and wrote,

“This afternoon I watched Jinsop Lee’s Ted talk on ‘Design for all 5 senses’. He took memorable experiences from his life where different senses fluctuated depending on the experience itself. It may be impossible to design a 10/10 for each sense when designing but I feel it is important as designers to get as close as possible in touch,hear,smell,see and taste to create a great product or experience. I really like his thinking…
Now I know why I love snowboarding so much: you see the mountain around you, hear the wind blow, feel the cold, smell the fresh mountain air, and taste the French baguette for lunch!”

And now, I’ve lived in Edinburgh for one year at my home on the street I grew up on, in the house I’ve always known since I was born.

Now I know why I love this place so much: you see the things you’re used to in a different way, you hear the t.v humming from the living room downstairs, you feel the warmth as you open the front door after work, you smell your mums cooking that you’ve always known, and taste the food you can never get enough of.

Leave a Reply

